Blue Hill is an early Maine seacoast
town nestled at the foot of Blue Hill Mountain and the head of
Blue Hill Bay. The
first settlers were Joseph Wood and John Roundy from Massachusetts.
In 1789 the town charter established itself
as Blue Hill.
Parson Jonathan Fisher had a well known
reputation for being a teacher, artist, builder, inventor, writer,
as well as being the town's first minister in 1792. The town's
earliest industries were shipbuilding, granite quarrying, and
Blue Hill's year round population is
about 2,000. Blue Hill contains a wealth of culture including
a wealth of art galleries, artists, musicians and writers. Kneisel
Hall is a world reknowned classical music school founded in the
20th century by Franz Kneisel. It features numerous summer chamber
music recitals that attract music lovers from all
over the world.
The Blue Hill Peninsula offers the
sailor the splendors of Eggemoggin Reach, Blue Hill Bay and Penobscot
With a southwest wind you can fly a
spinnaker all the way
into Blue Hill Bay....
and also picnic on Long Island.